Home > Rock on! > Amarathine: Forfeit to Benefit – Album review

Amarathine: Forfeit to Benefit – Album review

Honestly, this album sounds like a blind mans street band complete with cheep synthesizer sound fill-ins. From the harmonized wails to bathroom “constipation” screams they really do not do the words of the songs justice, it borders on pathetic. One annoying strum beat and same melody for 14 songs is a bit of a problem, while they might have sounded nice as bedroom ballads they do not cut it as an album strictly for the reason that it is monotonous, style aside, sixty minuets of the same thing is just a few minuets to long for me, in their defense they are not all the same, Shiver is not the same but not worth more of a comment then that, the most demonic Loving Jesus song ever, I only hope no one try to do worse.

I have quite a liberal play list (read my other reviews) but I think the only song I liked from this whole album was “Million Dollar Dream”. Overall this was a disappointing album, more “inde music in the outfield”, and a whole hour worth, where is the fresh alive music we used to have that we could count on to hit “home runs” every time? Guess we’ll have to wait for the next TCD because much of the independent tracks are lacking and letting us listeners down.

I think I’ll forfeit this album to benefit, and just go and listen to the birds singing outside or something, my ears are burning.

Categories: Rock on!
  1. Sonia Lee
    May 23, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    Ouch.
    Only, I couldn’t agree with you more.

  2. May 29, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    I skip their stuff on the Glitch. Brings me down. If I wanted that, I could go for system stuff, too…

  3. June 17, 2007 at 3:49 am

    I like the way you say things…just say them like they are with no regrets. Yep, I totally agree with you. What bothers me is how much time is being invested to make that kind of music, while we have a world to win for Jesus, and the influence that sort of music has on our teens. Not much difference from the system. Lord Helps us all to keep the purity of Family Music and never let it die.

  4. maryjane
    June 23, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    i’ve been more touched by “system” music then all the same [beep] the family puts out. at least it moves you not the same “come to the bed of love” [beep]. i’m sure if you knew these guys that made this forfeit to benefit album you wouldnt be saying what you did. at least he is trying. he is more on fire for the lord then you could ever come across to be

  5. July 11, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Nice review! Very scathing. I’d give him credit at least for trying, mostly because he’s got a somewhat extreme sort of style.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment