Home > Photos, That's Life > Hope looks beyond today

Hope looks beyond today

Two news items today.
hope-floats-original-edit-jay-phillips-copy.jpgWell, I unofficially got notice in my email that “hope floats” got the nod as Activated cover for February 2008 (still waiting for the official notice and check, which I’m splitting with the dear guy who loaned me the camera for the “lucky” shot three years ago). This is huge for me and my entry-level skills and for Croatia as that is where the picture was taken and that is the story, sad things sometimes happen but we get better through them.

Second I’ve been voted in to a FD home again after an 8 month wait, trial, battle overcoming time, it’s not over and a long fight and many mountains to go but I’ve hit the top of this one, finally, TTL. My prayers are with anyone who is also trying to rejoin and if I can do it anyone can, not give up, ever!

We went mountain climbing today as a home and while I do not enjoy free climbing as much as the others I did do a few hours of hiking around all the mountains with one of the guys while they were doing short wall climbs. It was windy and cold but a nice view, here are a few pics.

wanderer.jpg

the walk

peak.jpg

The peak, I’m holding on as though I do not have hair to blow in the wind it was blowing really hard up top.

jjumps.jpg

My hiking buddy took the wind much better and was jumping up into it while I bunkered down to take this shot of him.

pano-full-400.jpg

The view from where they were climbing (see left) and a wide view of the other peaks around. It took 6 pictures and a panorama stitching program later to get this shot.

Categories: Photos, That's Life
  1. September 20, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    Congratulations! I knew you’d do it! Glad to hear your pic will be on Activated as well.

  2. September 20, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    Many Congrats. I’m so glad things are working out for you. And of course, I love the picture.

  3. September 21, 2007 at 2:58 am

    That’s soooo cool, J. Everything! The Fact that you’re getting your picture on the cover of the Activated Mag; the fact that you got voted FD after your 8 month trial and that fact that you went mountain climbing. I personally am extremily fond of climbing mountains…I just love the feeling. BTW, great shots, especially the last one. You really have a talent. GBY!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

