Home > That's Life > A Traveling Spirit Lives

A Traveling Spirit Lives

My Grandma has left the room.

In looking back, I’ll always remember her for her traveling spirit and interest in new places and experiences. I’ll never forget my early years and her visits, taking us all over to interesting sights and places in Europe.

I am thankful that I was able to visit her again a few years back, and despite failing health and near blindness, she had been to Rome the year before and was planing a driving trip up and down the east coast of the US with my Aunt and cousin. That was just the way she was and her zest for travel and learning never stoped even in age and affiction. It is something I feel I’ve taken from her and hope to do now more in her honor and with the XYZone blog , as I know she would have enjoyed it here too, yet was not able to in her lifetime.

grand-and-us.jpg

I found this old photograph from our family achives, old film picture taken by my dad, must be nearly 25 years old (I am on the right and my older brother is on the left) and taken during one of her European trips in the early 80’s, her smile says it all and that is what I remember most from her.

Even in her later years and illnesses I remember she could always light up the room with her smile, even though she was too blind to see it returned, I know she did see and feel our love and especially that of my Uncle and Aunt who cared for her endlessly over the last many years.

I’m sure she is smiling down now on us now saying, “Thank you so much for everything, I’m off traveling now, there is so much to see here.” and for that I am happy for her knowing she is in a better place and that I will one day join her, till then I’ll keep dicovering this planet with a smile, she would not want it any other way.

Categories: That's Life
  1. Nyx
    October 14, 2006 at 2:49 pm

    Aw,

    You look soooo cute!!!!

  2. October 15, 2006 at 5:59 pm

    Unfortunatly it did not last long :p

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

